Sam Smith – Finally, a reason to turn the volume up


Stay with me, cos you’re all I need. 

It doesn’t sound like much lyrically speaking, heck I should know, I’ve written my fair share of bad songs in addition to the keepers! However, when you have a voice like Sam Smith, the vulnerability with which he sings this song, has me getting goosebumps each time I hear this track.

I’ve got to be honest, I had no clue who Sam Smith was, he seemed to come out of nowhere on my musical radar. Most songs like this one usually don’t move me, but perhaps it’s the fact that Sam sounds genuine, in all his performances he doesn’t seem as though he is putting on a show. He reminds me of a male version of Adele, and let’s face it, wouldn’t that duet be awesome?

Most of all, I understand yearning, I used to yearn for acceptance as I think everyone probably does or wants to at some stage in their life. Until, now, where I’m actually happy with who I am, and I don’t need anyone’s acceptance for that.

So if you love Sam Smith and find him just as refreshing as I do, in a music scene that has a heck of a lot of noise on commercial radio, then leave your comments below, or better still subscribe to my blog!

3 thoughts on “Sam Smith – Finally, a reason to turn the volume up

  1. missjanki says:

    Sam Smith is super talented and it’s great to see decent UK artists doing so well. Going to see him in July at Somerset House, can’t wait 🙂

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

