Black Swan


This year is definitely the ‘one’ for me personally, having seen two amazing movies in the space of less than a month, I can’t wait to see what else is yet to come!

Black Swan, perhaps due to the sheer volumes of Facebook updates, I was expecting to know what to expect when I sat waiting for the film to begin. However, what befalled my eyes was something I totally didn’t see coming.

I don’t think I’m going to cover any new ground in writing this, nor was this my aim. However, the real thread to the movie, wasn’t just the outstanding performances by Natalie Portman,Vincent Cassel and Mila Kunis (and pretty much everyone else, those these three core really shone for me) , but the ENTIRE soundtrack.

Aronofsky and  Clint Mansell did an absolutely stirling job with the soundtrack – with changes from the original Tchaikovsky‘s ballet, the soundtrack complimented the thrilling and rapidly intense film and action perfectly.

For me, the simplicity of the storyline coupled with the intense darkness of it all, made Black Swan the beauty that it was, but all the more thrilling and mind blowing to watch.

One of my favourite lines of the film by character Thomas Leroy is this :

Perfection is not just about control. It’s also about letting go. Surprise yourself so you can surprise the audience. Transcendence! Very few have it in them.

The idea that this obsession that Natalie Portman’s character has with perfection can inevitably be both creative yet destructive. To me, it sums up so many of the big debates in modern times – from the increasing number of youth desiring different bodies,shapes and sizes, through to an overall increase in the perception that sometimes, what is in the media = beautiful. Although, I don’t agree with that notion, I do think that the film does make you think about how far people are willing to go for perfection – not just in the movie, but it really did have me thinking about perfection as a whole. Isn’t perfection, a state of mind then?

Anyway, I loved the film, I thought Natalie Portman was absolutely stunning in the film, I think this brought out Natalie Portman into her own, her own style, her own ‘perfection’ if you will.

I leave you with this, and I’m inserting one of my favourite tracks from the movie, which has been on repeat all evening!

I’d love to hear what you my lovely readers thought if you’ve seen it? Did you love it/hate it? If you’ve just come across my blog, hello and welcome!

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

