Julie & Julia


I began watching this movie on a plane last year and it had me hooked, but alas,my journey came to an end as I got to the middle of the film. Since then, I had been itching to watch it, and more importantly, I knew, just KNEW that I wanted to buy a copy of the DVD.

So I finally got around to buying the DVD packed with special features too, and as my mother has been poorly, I thought this could be a great way to cheer her up and distract her from any pain she’s experiencing.

I’ve got to say, I loved the half of the movie that I had seen on the plane, and boy did I love it even more once I’d finished the entire film. It combines great romance, great humour and my most favourite ingredient of all- great FOOD.

The two stories were well balanced, the actors I thought were terrific, and Meryl Streep gave a stunning performance as Julia Child.

All in all, I loved the movie, and for foodies out there – WATCH it! My DVD came with a small recipe book – with a couple of the recipes from the movie- and thus from the book, ‘Mastering the Art of French Cooking’.

I can’t wait to try the chocolate cake recipe out!

To conclude, if you love cooking or just eating great food, if you love a feel-good,inspiring movie… spend a night in with Julie & Julia, you’ll be in Paris, NYC and in your own home simultaneously!

2 thoughts on “Julie & Julia

Leave a comment, I'd love to hear from you!

